SLS 2017 Annual Conference at University College Dublin: Call for Papers/Panels Now Open

SLS 2017 Annual Conference at University College Dublin: Call for Papers/Panels Now Open

SLS 2017 Annual Conference at University College Dublin:
Call for Papers/Panels Now Open


Call for Papers/Panels for 2017 SLS Annual Conference at University College Dublin

Dear all,

The call for papers and panels for the 2017 SLS Annual Conference, to be held at University College Dublin from Tuesday 5th September – Friday 8th September, is now open.  This year's theme is ‘The Diverse Unities of Law’.
Our 26 subject sections are distributed equally across both halves of the conference as outlined below.  This year, we are also running ‘trial’ sections on Conflict of Laws and Energy Law, as there is interest in creating new sections in these areas.


Section A: 5th and 6th September 2017 Section B: 7th and 8th September 2017
Civil Liberties Company
Comparative Energy Law (trial)
Conflict of Laws (trial) EU & Competition
Contract, Commercial & Consumer Intellectual Property
Banking & Finance International Law
Criminal Justice Labour
Cyberlaw Legal History
Environmental Maritime
Family Media
Jurisprudence Medical
Legal Education Property & Trusts
Migration Restitution
Public Practice, Profession & Ethics
Torts Tax


If you are interested in delivering a paper or organising a panel, please submit your paper abstract or panel details by midnight on Monday 27th March.  All abstracts and panel details must be submitted through the EasyChair conference system which can be accessed using the following link:  Full instructions on how to use the EasyChair system can be found here:
If you experience any issues in using EasyChair, please contact Jed Meers at
We would welcome proposals for papers and panels on any issue relating to the subject sections, including those addressing this year's conference theme.  If you have any queries about where your paper or panel would best fit, please do not hesitate to contact me at Those with queries for specific sections should contact the relevant convenor.  Their contact details are listed at the end of this email.
Those wishing to present a paper should submit a title and abstract of around 300 words, whilst those wishing to propose a panel should submit a document outlining the theme and rationale for the panel and the names of the proposed speakers (who must have agreed to participate) and their abstracts.  Sessions are 90 minutes in length and so we recommend panels of three to four speakers, though the conference organisers reserve the right to add speakers to panels in the interests of balance and diversity.
As the SLS is keen to ensure that as many members with good quality papers as possible are able to present, we discourage speakers from presenting more than one paper at the conference.  With this in mind, when you submit an abstract via EasyChair you will be asked to note if you are also responding to calls for papers or panels from other sections. 
I should also note that the SLS offers a Best Paper Prize which can be awarded to academics at any stage of their career and which is open to those presenting papers individually or within a panel.  The Prize carries a £250 monetary award and the winning paper will be published in the first issue of Legal Studies in 2018.  To be eligible:
  • speakers must be fully paid-up members of the SLS;
  • papers must not exceed 12,000 words including footnotes (as counted in Word);
  • papers must be uploaded to EasyChair by midnight on Monday 28th August; and
  • papers must not have been published previously or have been accepted or be under consideration for publication.


I also need to remind you that all speakers need to book and pay to attend the conference and will need to register for the conference by the end of June in order to secure their place within the programme, though please do let us know if this is likely to pose any problems for you.  Booking information will be circulated in due course.
A call for posters will be issued separately in due course.

With best wishes,
Annette Morris
Subject Sections Secretary

Section Convenor(s) E-mail
Banking & Finance Christopher Hare
Civil Liberties and Human Rights Ruvi Ziegler
Company Lorraine Talbot
Roseanne Russell
Comparative David Marrani
Greta Bosch
Conflict of Laws (trial) Andrew Dickinson
Contract, Commercial & Consumer Dania Thomas
Criminal Justice Hannah Quirk
Natalie Wortley
Cyberlaw Paul Bernal
Legal Education Caroline Strevens
Energy Law (trial) Raphael Heffron
Environmental Julie Adshead
EU and Competition Annette Nordhausen Scholes
Family Amy Purvis
Legal History Gwen Seabourne
Intellectual Property Claire Howell
International Chris Henderson
Philippa Webb
Jurisprudence Femi Ilesanmi
Rebecca Moosavian
Labour Rebecca Zahn
Maritime Leon Moller
Media & Communication Paul Wragg
Medical Mary Neal
Migration Violeta Moreno Lax
Diego Acosta Arcarazo
Open Tbc  
Practice, Profession & Ethics Carla Crifo
Property & Trusts Simon Cooper
Public Ann Lyon
John Stanton
Restitution James Lee
Tatiana Cutts
Tax Anzhela Cedelle
Torts James Goudkamp